Pt. Ravishankar Shukla University:

It is the oldest university of Chhattisgarh state established in 1964 accredited with 'A' grade by NAAC.



CBS is a center of science and research that is offering high quality under graduate teaching embedded in a post graduate and research environment.

Prof. Keshari Lal Verma, VC, Pt.RSU.

CBS is working to provide a quality education and research environment to the students. Hostel facility for girls and boys along with fellowship are provided to students of CBS.



Prof. Girish K. Pandey, Registrar, Pt.RSU.

Center for Basic Sciences (CBS)

The Center for Basic Sciences was established in the year 2015 in the campus of Pt. Ravishankar Shukla university, Raipur. It was conceived to give an opportunity to all those talented students out there who find a scope for higher studies in the field of basic sciences.

Despite being the existence of eminent institutions like IITs IISc, IISER, and NISER, the country is going through an acute dearth of good scientists and teachers. Owing to such needs of the state and the nation, the Government of Chhattisgarh responded proactively to the proposal of CBS ny generously providing the seed money to Pt. Ravishankar Shukla university for its establishment and assured a continuous support in the coming years.

The principal aim of CBS is to impart high quality undergraduate education amidst vibrant post graduate research environment with emphasis on the experimental component within a multi-disciplinary framework. It is also making education and career in basic sciences more attractive and approachable by breaking the barriers of taking up traditional disciplines.

Vision:

- The prime motive of CBS is to motivate talented 12th graders to take-up basic science as their career undertaking
- To provide high quality teaching in basic sciences by a faculty of distinguished scientists embedded in a vibrant research environment and to create a national pool of scientists ready to take up research challenges in the frontiers of basic and applied sciences.

	Director	Prof. K. K. Ghosh, (Ph.D., INSA-JSPS Fellow)		
	Specialization	Physical Chemistry		
	Email	kallolkghosh@gmail.com		
	Contact	+91-9425216204		

Academic Program Offered

neudenne i rogram Onered						
Course Name	Seats	Eligibility	Admission Procedure			
5 years Integrated M.Sc.	20 +10 (PCM)	10+2 (Science with	EST- Entrance Test *			
(B.Sc. Hons + M.Sc.)	20 +10 (PCB)	60%)				

*For admission in 2020, 1667 applications received for 40 seats, for more enquiry mail at cbsprsu@gmail.com, Reservation as per rule of Govt. of Chhattisgarh.

Salient Features:

- Monthly stipend of ₹5000 promoting self dependency among the students.
- ITC equipped classrooms.
- Departmental Library.
- Computer & Mathematica Lab.
- Modular Laboratories for Physics, Chemistry & Biology
- Curriculum at par with NISER Bhubaneswar, CBS Mumbai
- Separate hostel & mess facility for boys and girls.
- Co-curricular activities for all round development of the students.
 Visits of Scientists and Professor in CBS (2020-21)

Sr. No.	Name of Resource Persons	Affiliation
1	Prof N.N. Karade	Department of Chemistry, RTM Nagpur University , Nagpur
2	Dr.Meetul Kumar	Sc 'E' Dte of IC, DRDOHQ
3	Prof Swapan K Ghosh	UM-DAE-Center for Excellence in Basic Sciences, University of Mumbai
4	Dr. Satyajit Gupta	IIT Bhali
5	Dr. Renu Bhatt	Dept. Biotechnology GGU Bilashpur
6	Dr. Mithilesh Kumar Chaube	IIIT Naya Raipur
7	Prof Anand Pathak	University of Hyderabad

Student's Achievements (2020-21)

1. SET qualified:

Life Sciences-Aabha Vaishnav, Sakshi Sahu, Yachika Deshmukh, David Sonwani, Geetanjali Thakur, Monika Sahu, Sudha Porte, Sanu Awasthi Chemical Sciences- Pushpkant Sahu

Mathematics- Suruchi Sharda

2. NET qualified:

Chemical Sciences- Pushpkant Sahu NET- JRF 56th rank Life Sciences- Yachika Deshmukh NET-LS 115th rank Sudha Porte NET-JRF

Mathematical Sciences-Indra Kumar NET- LS

- 3. Selection for higher studies:
- **1. Hritam Chakbraborty** has been selected for MS+Integrated Ph..D. program in Leiden University, Netherlands (77th World Ranking).

- 2. Jeevan Lal Sahu has been selected for post graduation in NIT, Chandigarh
- 3. Amla Sidar has been selected for post graduation in BHU, VNS.
- 4. Publication by students in referred journals
- Vidya R. Singh, Shrishti P. Pandey and Prabhat K Singh, (2021), A Polyelectrolyte based supramolecular assembly for ratiometric sensing of ATP with very high discrimination from Pyrophosphate, Journal of Molecular Liquids. (5.06 IF)
- Kamran Ansari, G.Panduthurai, V. Anil Kumar 2020, Role of droplet size classes on the cloud droplet spectral dispersion as observed over the western ghats, Atmospheric Research, volume- 246. (4.6 IF)
- Widya R. Singh and Prabhat K Singh, (2020) A novel supramolecule based fluorescence turn-on and ratiometric sensor for highly selective detection of Glutathione over Cystein and Homocystein, Microchimica Acta. (6.23 IF)
- Ananya Diwan, Rakesh Kumar Swain, Sarojini Minz, Arti Parganiha, Atanu Kumar Pati, 2020 Ultradian circadian, and circaseptan rhythms in the patterns of usage of Facebook messenger, Biological Rhythm Research. (0.82 IF)
- Rakesh Kumar Swain, Sarojini Minz, Arti Parganiha, **Ananya Diwan**, Atanu Kumar Pati (2020) Circadian rhythm in thepattern of online usage of Facebook messenger during the COVID-19 triggered lockdown: a sequel to the prepandemic study, Biological Rhythm Research. (0.82 IF)
- Amul Jain, Leena Dhruw, Priyank Sinha, Anchal Pradhan, Rahul Sharma and Bhanushree Gupta 2020 Thymoquinone, NUTRACEUTICALS, Elsevier.

5. Academic Awards:

Vidya Rani Singh won the first price in National level Anveshan competition in the basic science category and won 50000 cash price organized by Rajiv Gandhi Produogiki Vishwavidyalaya under the aegis of Association of Indian Universities.













<u>m</u>

		i i i					TO HOLE	(Guest)	
CBS Ann	ual Magazine, 2019, Third edition			NORAN FAREEN	8.	Dr. Yamini Thakur		Assistant Professor (Guest)	Chemistry
			Zon-	VESHAN e Student Research Communication and 7th February 200	9.	Dr.Toshikee Yadav		Assistant Professor (Guest)	Chemistry
		© REDMING	Tr. o. PRO		10	Saket Agrawal		Assistant Professor	Physics
	Teaching	Faculty					8	(Guest)	
Sr. No.	Name		Designation	Specialization	11	Kishore Chelak		Assistant Professor	Physics
1.	Dr. Govind Prasad Sahu govind3012@gmail.com		Assistant Professor	Biomathemati cs Infectious				(Guest)	
			(Maths)	Disease Dynamics	12	Dipti Sahu		Assistant Professor	Physics
2.	Dr. Laxmikant Chaware chaware.laxmikant@gmail.co	3	Assistant Professor	Astronomy &				(Guest)	
	<u>m</u>		(Physics)	Astrophysics	13	Dr.Madhu Manikpuri		Assistant Professor	Biology
3.	Dr. Bhanushree Gupta bgupta1517@gmail.com		Assistant Professor	AChE Reactivators &				(Guest)	
			(Chemistry)	Kinetics	14	Dr. Alka Kaushik		Assistant Professor	Biology
4.	Dr. Veenu Joshi vinu.jsh@gmail.com		Assistant Professor	Plant Tissue Culture,				(Guest)	
		9	(Botany)	Biotechnology	15	Manoj Yadav		Assistant Professor	Maths
5.	Dr. Girja Shankar Gautam dr.girjashankar@gmail.com		Assistant Professor (Hindi)	Hindi, Sanskrit, Linguistics				(Guest)	
6.	Dr. Smita Sharma		Assistant	English	16	Dr. Rashi Gupta		Assistant Professor	Maths
0.	smitaanujsharma@gmail.co	9	Professor	J				(Guest)	

(English)

Sr.

No.

Name

Dr. Varsha Thakur

Designatio Specialization

Assistant Professor

(Guest)

Computer

Science



Center for Basic Sciences Pt. Ravishankar Shukla University Raipur (C.G.), India



Establishment Year – 2015

www.prsu.ac.in, cbsprsu@gmail.com, Contact: +91771-2262216