AMENDED ORDINANCE No. 17

DIPLOMA IN NATIONAL LANGUAGES

- 1. National Languages of India include:
 - (1) Assamese, (2) Bengali, (3) Gujarati, (4) Hindi, (5) Kannada, (6) Kashmiri, (7) Malayalam, (8) Marathi, (9) Oriya, (10) Punjabi, (11) Sanskrit, (12) Sindhi, (13) Tamil (14) Telugu and (15) Urdu, as specified in Schedule VIII of the Constitution of India. A candidate may offer one of the Languages for the diploma at a time.
- 2. A candidate, who after passing his/her Bachelor's degree or the third year B.E. examination or the First M.B.B.S. examination or any equivalent examination, has completed a regular course of study in the University Teaching Department or in any college affiliated to the University for one academic year, shall be admitted to the Diploma in National Languages examination

 Provided however, candidates studying for their Post-graduate degree may also join this course and take the examination simultaneously with the other examination.
- 3. The students of this course will be treated as casual and shall not be entitled to the privileges and facilities accorded to the regular students.
- 4. The examination shall consist of two written papers (each carrying 100 marks) of three hours duration each. Candidates security 60% or more marks in the aggregate of two papers shall be declared to have passed in the First class, those obtaining less than 60% but not less than 48% in the Second class and those obtaining less than 48% but not less than 36% in the Third class.